Minnesota Department of Health

The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) works to protect, maintain and improve the health of all Minnesotans. Health plans work with MDH on many initiatives, especially those that focus Minnesota-Department-of-Healthon five priority areas. Those areas are:

  • Physical Activity and Nutrition
  • Mental and Chemical Health
  • Access to Health Care
  • Chronic Disease Prevention & Management
  • Health Disparities and Health Equity

In addition, MDH regulates HMOs, county-based purchasing and others to ensure that the organizations follow all applicable laws and rules governing financial solvency, quality of care, access to services, complaints, appeals and other consumer rights.